Dallas Cowboys Team History

January 28, 1960 was an important date in the history of the Dallas. This date represents the time period when the Cowboys became a professional football team within the NFL. Since then this franchise is considered the second NFL team to win the most Super Bowl and it holds the most record for the most winning seasons within the league. This record has contributed to the nation wide fame and explains why people purchase Cowboys tickets everywhere this team travels. This team is a legendary franchise that is considered one of the top three teams within the NFL.

Texas is a state and a region of the country that is associated with steers, rangers, and outlaws. When Dallas first entered the league they were known as the Steers but this name wasn’t well received and it was changed to the rangers. The term “outlaw” was probably never considered but the word “cowboys” became a part of this organization. This organization wore the colors white, blue and silver on their uniforms and displayed a large star on their helmets. The original uniform jerseys were blue with white shoulders that had the team’s star logo printed on each side.

When they were first formed, they had an instant rivalry with the Washington Redskins. This rivalry started because of former Redskins owner, George Preston Marshall, didn’t want an expansion team in the state of Texas. The Redskins was the only team that represented the southern states for about 20 years. Marshall was also able to stop them from becoming a team but he had to change his plans after losing the rights to a song that was extremely important to his team. Clint Murchison, Jr. and Bedford Wynne were the primary owners of the team and the first General Manager was Tex Schramm.

Tom Landry was the first head coach and under his direction they didn’t win a single game in their first season. Landry didn’t gain too many victories until 1965 when the team had improved to a record of seven wins and seven losses. The early franchise consisted of players who were well beyond their prime. In 1966 the team had won ten games and they made it the NFL championship game and then lost to the Greenbay Packers. Landry commanded the team for over twenty years (1960 -1988) and he eventually built up Dallas’ reputation for being a dynasty team.

Landry’s revolutionary coaching tactics have been credited with changing the game of football and it is a primary reason why they had become one of the premier NFL franchise teams. They appeared thirty times in the playoffs, played 21 division championship games and played in 10 conference championship games. The team appeared in the Super Bowl eight times and won a total of five games during those appearances.

The Dallas Cowboys is considered the richest NFL franchise team within the league and is literally worth over a billion and a half dollars. Famous players that donned the Cowboys uniform include Roger Staubach, Troy Aikman, Larry Brown, Emmit Smith, Michael Irvin, Tony Dorsett, Ed Lee “Too Tall” Jones, Randy White and Bob Hayes who was the only NFL athlete to have won a Super Bowl ring and Olympic Gold medal.

Be Sociable, Share!